Gone Before

Thrilled to join another fantastic Books on Tour with Bookouture.

Gone Before by Sam Hepburn

The disappearance of five-year-old Maya Duncan remains one of the most famous missing person cases in British history. She vanished without a trace. Until now… 

Fifteen years after the abduction, Phoebe knocks on Kay Duncan’s door, clutching a yellow rainhat with Maya’s name stitched into the back. Phoebe is convinced that she is Maya Duncan, and that the woman behind the door is her real mother.

When Phoebe sees Kay, the memories come flooding back, and it seems that mother and daughter are to be reunited at last. But when a shocking discovery shatters the fragile relationship they have begun to build, Kay commits suicide, leaving Phoebe riddled with guilt. 

Alone and unanchored, Phoebe travels to London to dig into Kay’s life, hoping to uncover the truth behind her own identity. But as she pieces together Kay’s past, Phoebe discovers a disturbing link to the woman who raised her, and a terrible secret that even now could put her life in danger.

Gone Before is an utterly addictive ‘ripped-from-the-headlines’ thriller that you will read in one breathless gulp. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Gone Girl and The Silent Patient. 

My Review:

When I started this book, I questioned if I’d got this one wrong. However, I persevered and continued reading, I’m so glad I did. This has definitely been an absolutely fantastic read.

Although, slower than I normally like, something about this book had me intrigued so I continued reading and been taken along the path this story has taken.

The author has a writing style that enables the reader to become engaged in what they are reading. This is a book which has been both gripping and addictive.

This is a new author for me, but I will definitely be reading more. I absolutely loved how unpredictable this has been and the author has definitely kept me guessing.

A definite five star read, I highly recommend this book.

You can also check out my reviews on Twitter and Instagram.

Instagram: @littlemissbooklover87

Twitter: @littlemissbook6

Once again, Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Please leave a comment or get in touch if you have any recommendations.

I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s