The Railway Girls Maisie Thomas

Thrilled to review this absolute gem from the author herself.

The first novel in the wonderful new Railway Girls series, perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean.

In February, 1922, at the western-most entrance to Victoria Station in Manchester, a massive plaque was unveiled. Beneath a vast tiled map showing the lines of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway network, a series of seven bronze panels recorded the names of the men of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway who gave their lives for King and Country in the Great War – a total of 1,460 names.

In March, 1940, a group of women of varying ages and backgrounds, stand in front of the memorial, ready to do their bit in this new World War…
_________________________________________
Mabel is determined to make a fresh start as a railway girl where no one will know the terrible thing she did and she can put her guilt behind her… Or is she just running away?

Meanwhile Joan will never be as good as her sister, or so her Gran keeps telling her. A new job as a station clerk could be just the thing she needs to forget her troubles at home.

And Dot is further into her forties than she cares to admit. Her beloved sons are away fighting and her husband – well, the less said about him the better. Ratty old sod. She is anxious to become a railway girl just like her dear mam – anything to feel she is supporting the sons she prays for every night.

The three women start off as strangers, but soon form an unbreakable bond that will get them through the toughest of times…

My Thoughts;

I have been lucky enough to be gifted this gem by the author. I am so thrilled to be able to review this, it is an absolute delight to read. I honestly don’t know how any review I write could do this book justice.

This is set in 1940’s during the blitz, I have been a fan of this type of novel since reading Susanna Bavin books. This one is definitely another favourite. I honestly cannot express how much I have loved this book.

I am completely blown away, this is an amazing start to a new series and I already cannot wait for more. This is well-written and engaging, I am converted as a fan of Maisie’s.

I adore the characters in this book, they are strong and easily likeable from the very beginning. We get to follow the characters through the ups and downs. I adore them. I absolutely cannot wait to read the next book in this series and hopefully revisit these amazing characters.

A definite five star read for me.

You can also check out my reviews on Twitter and Instagram.

Instagram: @littlemissbooklover87

Twitter: @littlemissbook6

Once again, Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Please leave a comment or get in touch if you have any recommendations.

I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s