The Girls of Victory Street Pam Howes

I’m thrilled to join Bookouture for this lovely blog tour.

From Amazon bestseller Pam Howes comes an emotional World War Two saga about three young women whose bravery and friendship will see them through the darkest times.

Liverpool, 1939. Bella Rogers thought her life was just starting; she can’t wait to get married to her childhood sweetheart, Bobby. But when war is declared and Bobby is called up, his letters stop, leaving Bella heartbroken and alone. Then her family is torn apart by tragedy when her angelic five-year-old sister dies from a terrible illness. They can barely afford a funeral, but the church is packed with the entire community, devastated for their loss.

Grieving for her sister and lost love, Bella finds a job at the Bryant and May factory, making matches. As bombs begin to fall, Bella gets the workers singing, keeping spirits high amidst the fear. When she meets a handsome American airman, Earl Franklin Jr, Bella’s heart finally starts to mend. Earl encourages her passion and soon she and her friends are offered the opportunity of a lifetime: to travel the country’s army bases, entertaining the troops and singing for victory. They name themselves The Bryant Sisters.

Just as her life is getting back on track, Bella finds herself pregnant – and Earl reveals a shattering secret that changes everything about their future. Desolate, she flees home to Liverpool, but as an unmarried mother, will her family reject her? And, as she faces a terrible sacrifice, will she ever sing with The Bryant Sisters again?

A heartbreaking historical novel about women in wartime, friendship, family and hope. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Diney Costeloe and Wives of War.

I am really enjoying historical saga books at the moment, so was quite keen to get stuck into this book.

This is a new author for me but I am thrilled, I have loved it and will be adding more books by this author to my TBR. Howes has pulled me in and made it utterly impossible for me to put down.

This is a heartbreaking story but one that I have found myself thinking about after finishing. I don’t know how any written review will show how much I enjoyed this book.

I have loved Bella from the start, she is a fantastic character. As a reader, you experience the emotions of a lost love then the added grief of losing a loved one. This is definitely a rollercoaster of a read.

I really haven’t been able to put this one down and found I had devoured the entire book in just one sitting. It really did pull me in.

I have loved this book so much, I wish I could give it five hundred stars.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s